why europe? why not…?

Andrew has been pressuring me to write a blog for a while now. This seems strange to me, to be honest; I fancy myself the writer of our little family so far. I guess, when I write, I want to feel as though I am writing about something that is semi-significant, and, at the very least, something that does not replicate a wikipedia article, so I’ll try to be original and express some of the weird thoughts that get trapped in my brain.

Up until our trip to Singapore in December 2011, I had never left Australia. I’d left the state of NSW twice, but, if I am not allowed to include Canberra as leaving the state, then I guess I had only left once. Europe is kind of a big deal for me. It has been a dream of mine since I was very small (perhaps young is a better word here, seeing as my stature is rather irrelevant). My parents had a beautiful picture on their wall at one stage, that was of Santorini. It took me years to be able to articulate that this is where I actually wanted to go… Telling people you want to go to “the place with the blue doors” doesn’t really carry the conversation very far. I am very excited.

This is why I am counting the days…

Psalm 8:3-9

“When I look at the night sky and see the work of your fingers – the moon and the stars you set in place – what are mere mortals that you should think about them, human beings that you should care for them? Yet you made them only a little lower than God and crowned them with glory and honour. You gave them charge of everything you made, putting all things under their authority – the flocks and herds and all the wild animals, the birds in the sky, the fish in the sea, and everything that swims the ocean currents. O Lord, our Lord, your majestic name fills the Earth!”

To me, God is not someone who is very far away. He is someone, a person, who is very close, that I can interact with easily and often. I do not feel the need to go somewhere particular to feel God, I believe he can meet me anywhere. I believe he can show me His wonder and glory in each and every part of this world. I believe there is beauty everywhere, if you look for it. I want to look for it in Europe. For 10 or so weeks, I want to see what God did when he created that part of the Earth. I want to experience the history of European churches and worship in places where people have both worshipped for centuries, and perhaps, where no one has yet thought to worship. I want to seek out God’s glory in our adventure, and marvel at His goodness. The place looks darn pretty.

I am no theologian, nor do I claim to be one, I just love Jesus. This is, ultimately, all I ever want to do.

So, Europe. Let’s do this.

Leave a Reply

